The Journey is Done

By Bailey Cressman
What a year this has been! From discovering more about the country that I live in, to learning about another, this year has taught us all so much. We’ve had our challenges, but we’ve also had our joys, and I know that for me, the joys by far outweighed the challenges. We will never forget how the past seven months have impacted and shaped us all as individuals and as an entire community. But this is it. Now it’s our time to say goodbye. Thank you to those who have been following us through this journey, for praying for us, and supporting us, we are extremely grateful. God bless!
This is Outtatown, South Africa, 2016/17, signing out.
IMG_9641

Amani Amstutz: Outtatown challenged me in the best ways and I got to grow in so many beautiful places- couldn’t be more grateful for this year.

 

B84BF676-CD51-4E20-B7D7-609312B94EFB

Rianna Isaak: Ubuntu: We are people through other people.

 

DSC06797

Hadiya Huijer: “Have I not commanded you? Be strong and courageous. Do not be afraid; do not be discouraged; for the Lord your God will be with you wherever you go” – Joshua 1:9

FullSizeRender (1)

Tez Peterson: My favourite part was tanning.

IMG_3997

Danielle Brockman: Remember that time we were hit by the Plague?

IMG_0453

Eli Melsness: There’s been fun times and challenges and I’ve learned from both.

IMG_0451

Adam Neufeld: Outtatown was filled with unforgettable experiences had with amazing friends; whether lazing around humming in a dog pile, hiking up mountains, or serving with people we met along the way.

IMG_0448

Alyssa Enns: There’s nothing better than seeing Jesus through the faces of the South Africans.

IMG_0445

Jana Enns: This year has been full of adventures. Jumping out of planes, sleeping in caves, waking up way too early to see sunrises, and staying up way too late to watch movies.

IMG_0440

Josh Driedger: Outtatown has taught me what it is to love everyone the same no matter who it is.

IMG_0418

Daniel Kang: On Outtatown I have experienced firsthand the outcome of poverty, power abuse, community building, deep conversations with friends, etc. Through the adventures I’ve had with this group however, one thing has stayed consistent: God was there. God was present and was not idle in his actions.

IMG_1598

Jessica Smith: Outtatown is a journey with highs and lows, fun days and days that kill ya, but all in all it is an adventure full of memories with people you grow to love.

FullSizeRender (2)

Beth Verwoerd: I’ve loved experiencing the many culture of South Africa; whether it was through going to a show with my Afrikaner homestay family, attempting to Zulu dance in KwaZulu Natal, trying to eat curry dishes with my hands in Durban, or having a braai with my coloured homestay family in Strandfontein.

IMG_5635

Lyds Keesmaat-Welsh: Give us peace when the journey is done.

IMG_0414 (1)

Jonah Thiessen: Outtatown is a blast, just do it.

IMG_0420

Josh Toews: Traveling through South Africa has been an incredible journey where I learned a lot about God, myself, and the world around me and had many adventures with the group.

IMG_2975

Alexa Nicolle: “I laughed; I cried; it moved me Bob.” – Larry the Cucumber

IMG_2880

Silas Allen: I am thankful to my community for three things: making it a hoot and a half of a year, helping me grow personally, and helping me grow spiritually.

IMG_0413

Brianna Wiebe: Outtatown teaches you as much or more as you want and strive to learn.

IMG_2974

Cole Stewart: I went skydiving, bungee jumping, and learned to surf, but the best part of Outtatown, for me was experiencing two beautiful countries and their incredible diversity.

IMG_1396

Katie Clements: I had a mind-blowing time in South Africa. The people, the food, and the land are all unique in their own way. God is definitely at work in that place.

IMG_2970

Julien Busse: If you boast of your wisdom, you reveal your foolishness. If you speak of your humility, you show off your pride. And if you call yourself godly, you unveil just how far you’ve moved away from Him. This I say, never consider yourself godly, humble, or wise. But seek to become them.

IMG_6570

Reanne Regier: Outtatown taught me that I have to put God first and be best friends with Him before anyone. God always comes first. No matter what.

IMG_2973

Sean Inglis: Outtatown has been a wild year full of crazy fun experiences that have caused me to grow in many ways.

IMG_2971

Holly Vroom: Live until you find a reason to want to live.

IMG_2969

Holly Dean: I’m so done. 🙂

IMG_3041

Andrew Nakatsuka: 8/10, would do it again.

DSC03568

Hannah Vanderheyden: Collect the good little things. 

IMG_8366

Joey Speers: Outtatown gives you an opportunity to destroy what the world says you are and allows you to dig deeper into who Jesus says you are.

IMG_3113

Skye Wagenman: You get the best out of this journey when you put your best into it.

DSC02773

Jannelle Dyck: I leave this year filled with awe, wonder, and gratitude. Thanks be to God!

unnamed

Tim Nauta: Not all heroes wear capes.

FullSizeRender (3)

Sid Roth: I found God while on Outtatown which embarked me on a crazy life of faith.

DSC02130

Naomi Wiebe: Outtatown is a program that makes you grow in all areas: emotionally, spiritually, and unfortunately physically (girth-wise).

IMG_0444

Justin Eisinga: I never imagined I would travel to South Africa. I never imagined I would jump off a bridge or fall out of an airplane. And I surely never imagined I would be called “surrogate father” by a bunch of young adults. I guess Outtatown is kind of like a box of chocolates, you never know what you’re going to get.

unnamed

Ben McIntosh: Safety never takes a holiday.

DSC00678

Bailey Cressman: I have learned more in the seven months of being in Outtatown that I probably would have in five years without doing it.

Leave a Reply

